Need advise on restoring 16 foot Picard canoe

Dabluz

Curious about Wooden Canoes
I've been reading the forum and there was quite a bit of good info but I have a few questions and need some opinions on my restoration project of a 16 foot Picard square back canoe.

I put 32 photos of the canoe on Flikr (link below).

This is my first project. I paid 150 dollars for the canoe. As you can see in the photos, the inside of the canoe looks great. What should I do to the inside of the canoe?

The old fiberglass cloth on the canoe came off like old skin on a 10 day old sunburn. I did the job a bit too fast and broke a plank at the prow of the canoe. I guess to repair that, I will have to add a rib in order to nail the plank in place.

As you can see of the outside of the canoe, the wood is stained, has small gaps, a few cracked planks and lots of small nail heads. Can I still finish the canoe with clear fiberglass and varnish or should I finish the job with a top quality paint? Will javex lighten up the dark stains in the wood?

I will have more questions but will wait for later. I will be lurking the forum to find out how to fill in the gaps and cracks. It will depend on having a transparent finish on the canoe or not that will dictate how I will fill in those things.

For the photos, go here. http://www.flickr.com/photos/dabluz/

Was browsing around and saw your unanswered post. It looked awfully lonely sitting out here since last September.

I'm just getting into building canoes, but I do have a bit of experience restoring a boat similar to what you have here.

This is what I started with:
ry%3D480

This is what I ended with:
ry%3D480

I removed the fiberglass like you did. Sanded and smoothed the exterior, and applied a lead based primer following up with some Kirby's marine paint. I sanded and varnished the interior, (about 8 painstaking coats).