My First Canoe needs expert advice/info

genegene

Well I'm new to the wooden canoe ownership crew and I just got one for free.

The original owner ordered it from a blueprint kit in (I'm guessing) the 60's and he and his brother built it.

After talking with the owner about the boat I found out that he was going to cut it up and toss it in the dumpster.

I told him that I would take it and fix it up and use it for my self and my kids.

I was told it was a canvas shell over wood slats and they tried that and it worked great but they weren't sure of how well it would hold up over time, so they decided to fiberglass the canvas shell for more durability.

They used it a couple of times before storing it in a barn for 20+- years before his son asked to use it.

Upon my arrival a few days later to pick up the canoe it was discovered by the owner since I had last been there, that there was some more minor extensive work that needed to be done because his son never put the canoe back and of course one end was in the dirt where he left it. :(

The repairs are not overly difficult to fix but its going to take me longer to fix then I originally planed, but the hard part is going to be the fact that with all the structural work in the top rear of the canoe I will need to remove about 4 feet of the fiber glass on one side and 3 on the other.

I have decided that it would just make more sense to remove all old original fiberglass, check all joints, take measurements and diagrams (in case something breaks in the future), re-urethane everything, and completely re fiberglass the entire canoe.

I know this may seem like a big deal to some of you more experienced people but this is my first one and I plan on having my 4yr old help me as much as he can so he will have some good memories of rebuilding a "boat" as he calls it.

I have a few questions about this project,:

1) Does anyone recognize this style of canoe so I may try and find some blueprints of it? :confused: