Hints on Lower Wisconsin River Camping

mr.gorp

I'm new to camping on the Lower Wisconsin River and looking for any special things that I should know about camping on the Lower WI? What I've learned (in summary) so far:

At night tie/beach boat way up high (on dry sand). The water fluctuates in height daily.
Don't expect to find firewood along the river -- so bring your own (within 50 miles of the river).
The river is sand bottomed, but watch out for drop offs.
Starting at Muscoda and further down river is quieter (less people).
Stake your claim to an island (or part of) early -- and sit back and enjoy the outing.
You need a garbage bag in every canoe for refuse.

A couple of questions:
What do you do about water? Are there plentifuly places to refill jugs? Wher edoes one refill? Can you use a filter like in the BWCA?
Toilets are non-existant -- so unlike the BWCA or St. Croix, there are no designated facilities. So how do you handle it? shovel and a pit?
Is there any limit on the size of group that can camp on an island? (BWCA limits is 9 per campsite).
Are there any permits needed? Any reservation system?
How is the weather along the river? Stonger winds? Regular morning mist?
Any better time to canoe?
What differences between early summer camping and later summer camping?

Any other suggestions or things to watch our for?

Sorry if this is a little long, but I'm new to Wisconsin and looking to setup a canoe camping trip for for a group of senior high school boys. I'd like there not to be to many surprises -- and make sure that they have a good experience (and want to go camping and canoeing agian).

Thank you for any help that you can provide!

Bring drinking water. Freeze it in milk jugs to keep your perishables cool in coolers. Drink it when it thaws. Get plastic "jerry" cans, too. You can filter, too. I never looked for fresh water along the way, but there may be some place to refill...?

Shovel and pit works the best. Watch your step. Not all folks do this.