Cedar Canoe found in a Barn

BarnBuild

Hello to all! I'm glad to have stumbled upon this website, what a great source of information and networking!

Last Saturday I received a call from a friends dad who is in the process of moving off his small farm. " I've got a crappy cedar canoe in my barn that going to be firewood by the end up the day unless someone picks it up", he barked. "I'll see you in an hour", I replied. So I drove down, strapped the boat to my truck and headed home. This is my first watercraft of any kind and it's looks like it was once a beautiful canoe. I'd like to use this canoe for fly fishing and extended camping/fishing trips. I have some previous wood working experience, a small assortment of tools and a lot of time and energy.

My goal is to "restore" or fix the canoe to like new condition and I'd like to know where to start. I am a total novice.
-The boat looks to be in decent shape besides:
-The resin on top of the fiberglass is wearing thin on some sections of the hull and completely disconnected from the yoke and the gunwhales.
-There are gaps between the deck plates and the inside of the boat.
-There is obvious normal wear and tear.
-The seats need to re-upholstered
-Fiberglass on the bow and stern is peeling back
-The gunwhales obviously need to be replaced

I think you'll be able to access my photobucket with the URL below.

http://s1210.photobucket.com/albums/cc406/runprerun/?action=view&current=PC300627.jpg

Welcome to the WCHA!

Stripping & re-glassing a cedar-strip canoe is a lot of work, but it can be done. Some folks here claim that it's easier to just build a new one... and having done a partial strip & re-glass, I suspect they're right.

But you're right, it looks like it will be a pretty boat, once you're done with it.