Canvas vs. Dacron

dugkim

LOVES Wooden Canoes
Okay, let's get to it! Let's see...canvas more durable, dacron saves 30-40% weight. Canvas easy to install, dacron maybe not so easy.

I am thinking that I would like to try the dacron...30-40% lighter!!!!!!!!!!! Worth a shot...

Hi Doug,

I recently obtained some dacron from Gil. the heavy stuff. And will use it on a new canoe I have partially completed. So, I think you should do the canvas first. then try dacron on your next project. Canvas covers imperfections. It doesn't let go all to once in a catastrofic event like dacron, (Not that I am an expert) I like the idea of the weight savings but I guess that dacron takes more skill. Again, not sure here.

All I can say is that it works for me and I have definitely stress tested it over the last 19 years.
I have made 3 of the big freighters and stripped one of the big canoes twice (23 ft freighters that are beach and surf launched), once because I wanted and see what, if anything, was happening to the fabric and to change colour; and after I had passed it on to the scouts, it had accumulated a lot of sand and gravel underneath the fabric, in both cases the fabric and cover was in nearly new shape and as strong as when it was put on.
I have had a highway guard rail go though the side of the oldest big canoe (my fault) with very limited tear to the fabric but 4 ft of 1 1/2x 1 1/4 ash inwale and 1 1/2 x 1/2 outwale plus 8 ribs and planking required some urgent attention (the 10 day 250 mile trip continued on the next day with a cheap and nasty repair)
I have given the routine that seems to work in my hands whether the canoe is 9, 12, 16, 18 or 23ft .