Can someone help identify this 18 Old Town Square stern

woodwerx

Curious about Wooden Canoes
Hi I am new to WCHA and I just purchased this Old Town canoe on Craigslist for CHEAP .
This is all I know about and I have attached a picture. I did some research and it seems that only 16ft square sterns were made

18' Old Town square stern cedar , stored in a barn, serial # too difficult to read

OT1.jpg

Hello, and welcome! We need more pictures, please... this image doesn't say much beyond "could be a canoe-- a green one." The deck-- especially if it's a short deck, can provide an indication of the builder, and sometimes even the model. But if the boat is an Old Town, you'll get some detailed information about the process of building it and the date it was shipped, if you provide the serial number.Clean it off-- maybe even use a bit of paint stripper-- and take a digital picture and post it here, along with pictures of the deck, a side view, and the inside of the canoe. Digital pictures show a lot of detail and the many eyes of those who visit this place may decipher what's there. Also, keep in mind that many people think any wooden canoe is an Old Town, and you may have a boat by a different maker. Old Town serial numbers consist of up to 6 digits, followed by a space and the length of the canoe.

Looking forward to helping you figure this out!

Kathy

Your picture is saying a bit more to me than when I originally looked at it. You might have a shoe keel there, which suggests a Canadian builder. The type of screws used on the outwales may suggest a particular builder too. But more pictures will say a good deal more... and we love pictures!

Hello,