age?

ahjort

Rank Amatuer
I have an opportunity to purchase an Old Town canoe and was wondering about the age.:confused: I am a NOOB so bear with me! The number I got of the canoe is 11154 If the is more to it then I didn't look close enough!
It is in need of some restoration work and I think I am up to the challenge but will need resources to guide me along. All the wood is in good shape and the cane seats are intact. The canvas was replaced about 5 years ago and is in good shape, but the coating (paint) is peeling badly (in large chunks).
I came across it while driving in Northern NY. It was sitting outside next to an old barn.
I can pick this up for $300. I feel that is a good price for the shape it is in.
What little I have found on line leads me to believe it was built sometime in the early teens. Can anyone help confirm this? Can anyone post the build sheet? Any info is greatly appreciated!

Last edited:
Welcome to the WCHA Forums-- there are no dumb questions here, and you'll get the help you need from this friendly, helpful bunch.

Old Town 11154 is a 16 foot CS (common sense or middle) grade HW (heavy water) model canoe that was finished May-June of 1909. Look carefully at the canoe in front of you and check out these details, because you sound somewhat unsure of the number. Old Town canoes have the serial number on BOTH stems-- 5-6 digits followed by a space and the length of the canoe-- so it's a good idea to check out both stems. If the serial number is on a brass plate or in a different place, you may have a canoe by a different builder.

OT 11154 has red Western cedar planking and CLOSED spruce gunwales. People new to old canoes sometimes don't know the difference between closed and open gunwales... with open, the inwale and outwale sandwich the ribs, so the gunwales have all these little spaces in them for dumping out water. Closed wales have a cap on top. If you're unsure, post a picture.