A Spiritual Rebuild

yakfever

I am a youth pastor who is using one very abused Adirondack Stripper to teach my youth a spiritual lesson over the next year +. Most people who have seen the boat think I am insane for even trying, telling me I should make it into book shelves. The boat has been hacked into four pieces with a chainsaw by a previous owner. The gunwales are gone, some of the planking is separated and the ribs have "opened up". To my knowledge, the boat has no pedegree. I love canoeing and have always wanted a wood strip boat, but I have never worked on in any way shape or form. I figure I can't make the boat any worse than it is; most people think I should put it in the trash. But that's the point, it wasn't intended to be trash when it was built, so I want to redeem it.

I think my first step will be to strip the boat down to original wood and start from there. The problem is that it has been fiberglassed at some point. Can anyone give me advice about how to get the fiberglass off?

I have the canvas and wood canoe book which has some repair information in it and the repair book I bought off this site. Are there any other really good resources that a novice who has a big project on his hands should read? Preferably something that is fairly comprehensive, but not insanely technical.

Thanks for any help you can provide. I'm attaching pictures of "Redemption"; that's her name.

Attachments

• 45f7_3.jpg
    45f7_3.jpg
    114.6 KB · Views: 469
Aw nothing a little bondo putty couldn't fix.

Seriously though, most of the ribs seem to be ok. Although I'm pretty green to this myself, I would suggest:

1. Strip boat of all canvas and varnish
2. Scarf all those segments of inwale together and begin from there.
3. replace any planking and ribs that are broken
4. bend new outwales
5. Recarve and replace floor boards.
6. recanvas, refill, and repaint.
7. replace those awful seats Or if they are original, remove that blue lawn chair stuff and recane.

Good luck!