Serial # 36689 Old Town

Loghead

I am a newbie to the wooden canoe world but have been an admirer for as long as I can remember. I have recently purchased an Old Town canoe with the serial # 36689 16 and would love to find out more information on it. It is in need of some serious restoration. I plan on restoring it as soon as I can get all the information on new components. I will be displaying it in the rafters of my log home in Michigan. Hopefully you can help me out with the build sheet. I plan on documenting the process and getting some pics on the forum as soon as I can. Thanks in advance.
Dale (Loghead)

Hmmm. The build record is attached, but #36689 appears to be a 17 foot HW model, not a 16'er like your post indicated (the last 2 numbers are the length)

Check again more carefully and see what you find - sometimes numbers get filled in, hidden under gunk or scratched. Check both stems and post your results here.

Scans of approximately 210,000 records were created with substantial grants from the Wooden Canoe Heritage Association (WCHA) and others. Additional information about the project to preserve these records is available at http://www.wcha.org/catalogs/old-town/records/ if you want more details. Please join WCHA or make a tax deductable contribution so that services like this can continue. See http://www.wcha.org/wcha/ to learn more about the WCHA, http://www.wcha.org/wcha_video.php to watch a 10 minute video about WCHA and our programs and http://www.wcha.org/join.html to join. If you are already a WCHA member, THANK YOU!

It is also possible that you could have another number or manufacturer if this description doesn't match your canoe. Feel free to reply here if you have any other questions.

Hey - paddle that boat - you can display it when you get old!:rolleyes:

Attachments

• 36689.gif
    36689.gif
    138.5 KB · Views: 264