New kid on the block faced with decision

Jimbo

LOVES Wooden Canoes
Hello There,
I have been a paddler of fiberglass, kevlar, etc. canoes for many years and have always loved wood/canvas canoes but never had the opp to own one. I'm a woodworker too and always wanted to tackle the restoration of a vintage canoe. All of a sudden there is one for sale nearby at a local "trading post". The beast, as I will call it, is 22 ft long and wood/canvas. Everything seems in place, but someone has literally painted the canvas olive drab and stencilied military "stars" on it...making it a "war" canoe I suppose. The shop owner recieved it in trade for a firearm, and said the man who traded it called it a Richardson. Not much info on the web on this company...I was wondering if the 800.00 asking price was reasonable...and if the enormous size was an asset or detraction from the desirability of this canoe? Jimbo

I would look for something smaller(shorter). A 16 or 17 foot canoe would be much easier to lug around especially as your first wooden canoe. Keep looking, you will find one. As for the price of the canoe, hard to say without pictures.

Thanks for the reply! The canoe seems to be in great shape, with the exception of one cracked rib and the aforementioned military paint job. I imagine it would make a great fishing/family fun boat. The thing just screams adventure when you look at it! Hard to pass up, but $800.00 is a lot of money these days for something I dont really need (so says the wife).

Wait just one minute here!! Define really need. I own 3 canoes, and really need them all!! Again, I'd wait for something a bit more managable, but its your call.;)

New kid on the block faced with

I'll agree, you have to define "Really Need." I have four canoes here, and one waiting impatiently for arrival....

but $800.00 is a lot of money these days for something I dont really need (so says the wife).