Lumpy but Loved

zutefisk

LOVES Wooden Canoes
28 ribs, 60 foot of plank, 2 pounds of tacks, a bit of stem, a couple ebay seats, and a whole lot of learning later, my chestnut pal is on the water.

You professional restorers definitely do not need to be looking over your shoulders. Her hull is not quite fair, the paint has some blotchy spots, one stem band is crooked, and there are a few drips in the varnish that I will sand out in a couple three years when it needs brightening. In honor of her little defects, I've christened her lumpy.

She floats real nice, got some compliments from the kayakers on lake union and the folks tied up at the guest moorage at fisherman's terminal.

Attached is a picture from her first voyage on the tidewater.

Attachments

• Picture 192.jpg
    Picture 192.jpg
    598.6 KB · Views: 414
You know, Zutefisk, I've been keeping and breeding some strange reptiles for many years now. Believe it or not, there's quite a market out there, and there's always the hottest new snake or turtle species, or abberant color or pattern mutation. Big egos and big wads of cash creep into the mix... Though it is never said so bluntly, the fascinated child with his lowly garter snake or corn snake is sometimes made out to be a second class citizen.

But just as any real love for a creature is fun, instructive, and simply wonderful, so is real passion for an old wooden canoe. "Lumpy" earned her scars, and it's great that you've gotten her back on the water. While Gerrish, Rushton and Morris may lead to starry eyes sometimes, a loving restoration of a work-a-day Chestnut is worth just as much to your own hands, and to the eyes of many people you'll pass on the water.

No apologies necessary- just enjoy!

Well said Mike,

Zute,
Nice work, have you found your next project yet. :)