Cracked ribs

Tom Wiarda

Curious about Wooden Canoes
I am just starting to restore my first canoe, a 1939 OT Yankee. I knew I would need to repair the two stems where they had rotted and replace the outwales. When I stripped the varnish I found a few cracked ribs. Two are next to each other near the front and one on the other side near the rear. Nothing moves and there is no damage or distortion to the planking. The planking is in good condition and I fear I would cause a lot of damage trying to remove the cracked ribs. Do they need to be replaced? Would it help to put a fiberglass patch on the outside over the area where the cracked ribs are as reinforcement? I was going to put a 6" strip of fiberglass over the stems to strengthen this area. Is this a good idea? Thanks, Tom

I am not a professional restorer of wooden canoes but the best solution is generally to replace the cracked ribs. Another option is to remove the planking over the crack and make a 'back side repair' that involves cutting away some of the rib around the crack and gluing in a hardwood reinforcement. A fiberglass patch on the cracked ribs or stems would probably be one of the worst possible solutions for many reasons. Leaving the broken ribs would be a better alternative than adding a fiberglass patch in my opinion. Other people here with more experience may be able to offer better suggestions.

Benson

Hi Tom

Congratulations on your first project. Here's my opinion with the disclaimer that it's your canoe and you can do anything you want.