"Care and Feeding of Wood Canoes"?????

mccloud

"Tiger Rag" back on the tidal Potomac
In Memoriam
Soon I will be turning over a restored w/c canoe to a relative, who does not have experience with w/c canoes, for use at his vacation cabin. Has anyone compiled a "Care and Feeding", or "10 Commandments" for new wooden canoe owners? Or maybe a list of the 10 worst things you can do to a wooden canoe? Seems this is something we could add to the FAQ's section. I'll get the list started: do not leave your canoe outdoors turned over in contact with the wet ground for long periods of time. Tom McCloud

You already got the big one. Add to that, don't leave it upright and uncovered; i.e. don't let rain and snow accumulate in the bottom.

Ok, I'll bite.........how about a couple of moth balls under the decks when she is overturned in storage ? Oh, Maybe make SURE the boat is dry if you intend on wrapping it tightly for storage.

I'm a newbie and about as green as a greenhorn gets to this site and canoe restoration. But based on the mothballs suggestion, might I also suggest drier sheets to keep mice away. It sounds a little crazy, but it works. I had mouse problems in my turkey blind and my hunting shack. I placed drier sheets in there and no more mice. Replace them every so often as they lose their smelliness.

Well, my original post certainly didn't get much discussion or generate input, so here is what I've put together to give to the relative:

BASIC CARE FOR A WOOD/CANVAS CANOE

1. Wet is the biggest enemy. If a w/c canoe is dry, the wood will not deteriorate for many years. The small gaps between the red cedar planking allows the canvas to dry, but the same gaps allow some sand to get in between wood and canvas, which is not good.

2. After use, when mud and sand is carried into the canoe, a good hosing out is recommended before the grit dries and sticks. Then turn the canoe over and dry thoroughly.