Paint under/over epoxy

erbinsky

Canoeist/Builder
Hi all. Hope everyone had a great Christmas.I have a week off work and started my project for this winter,a 12 ft. rowing/sailing skiff.I'm at the point of putting the decks on and have a question about the next step ,glassing the hull. I have built numerous cedar strip canoes and one s&g canoe so I have some experience with fiberglass.For this boat I had to join 1/2 a sheet of marine plywood (Okoume) to a full sheet to end up with the 12 feet I needed.The inside of the cockpit will be painted so the joint is not a problem. I would really like to leave the outside of the hull natural and cover it with varnish but my scarf joints are really quite ugly.I would like to paint over just the joints but I'm afraid of poor adhesion of the epoxy if I paint before I glass.I'm also afraid of the paint bleeding into the vanish if I paint on top of the epoxy. My last option is to paint last but agian will it stick to varnish. Any coments would be greatly appreiciated. Thanks and Happy New Year!... Jeff

Epoxy over paint can only stick and seal as well as the paint, which is far less than the epoxy can do on bare wood - so you don't want to paint first. Painting last, over the varnish is no problem as long as you sand the varnish where you want the paint to be before painting. Most enamel manufacturers want the surface sanded to somewhere in the 80-150 grit range to give the surface enough "tooth" for the paint to stick well.