next step: maintenance or restoration?

canoista

Curious about Wooden Canoes
I posted few days ago asking for help identifying a Chestnut canoe, a Bob's special that I ended up purchasing. The canoe looks in good conditions to my eyes and I paddled it for a couple of hours with no leaks or other problems. I am very happy with it and I intend to use it for my paddling and fishing excursions on ponds and slower rivers in New England.
I have already purchased and looked through the books This Old Canoe and The Wood and Canvas Canoe, but as a beginner I am not sure about my next step with this canoe. I did not notice major issues with its planks or ribs, the bow and the stern seem OK, and the canvas has only a couple of areas of chipped paint; no dents, no cuts or scratches.
I am thinking about performing the following maintenance process:
  • take the outwales off
  • sand the canvas to the filler and if there is nothing wrong repaint it
  • sand and re-varnish all the wooden parts (this may remove what's left of the Chestnut decal, but I can find a replacement for it)
  • recane seats
  • put outwales back on
  • sand and polish stem band
The alternative would be to strip and varnish all wood (maybe replace the outwales too) and recanvas it.
I would follow this approach if I notice issues with the hull while I am sanding the canvas.

What do you think? What's best for the canoe? Is it in good enough shape for just some repainting and re varnishing? Or should I plan on restoring it?
Here are some pics of signs of wear and tear.

Thanks,

Pier

Bow and Stern:
39226-cb30fb0686dd1ae9d126c13818a7f238.jpg
39224-ae54da6c5314a93f05cd921992743f3e.jpg

Chipped Ribs:
39225-f2d6b7b4edca689d3488a76ba6656bfe.jpg
39223-4f9fefcffe9ad8e4994705dc70a55034.jpg

Gunnels and canvas:
39228-f372589ec66248cde51b441de545ed2b.jpg
39229-cd47a0f40124e726d559432112f2db60.jpg

Last edited: