New to me 15' Peterborough Litelift

Mac

Curious about Wooden Canoes
G'day! I am a total newbie when it comes to wood/canvas canoes. I've always admired them from afar but now am the proud owner of one! In my opinion, the wood appears to be in great shape. I can't see any cracked ribs. I believe it's the original canvas. It has been painted over and the paint is now peeling off. Is this something that can be sanded down and repainted to buy a little time on the water before I put new canvas or will i do more damage than good lol?

Attachments

• 20190514_162630.jpg
    20190514_162630.jpg
    78.7 KB · Views: 278
Welcome, this looks like some sanding, paint, and varnish could work fine for another season or two. A water test would be good to see if it leaks much. The canvas will probably need to be replaced soon since this typically only lasts for a decade or two in normal use. Good luck,

Benson

Reactions: Mac
Welcome to the WCHA. A nice canoe. As a "total newbie, " when considering any maintenance, repair, or restoration work, whether you plan to do it yourself or to hire a professional, in addition to asking questions here, there are three good sources of information about canoe restoration that you would do well to get, or at least look at, before making any decision about how to repair or restore your canoe:

The Wood and Canvas Canoe: A Complete Guide to its History, Construction, Restoration, and Maintenance by Rollin Thurlow and Jerry Stelmok

Building the Maine Guide Canoe by Jerry Stelmok

This Old Canoe: How To Restore Your Wood-Canvas Canoe, by Mike Elliott

The first is often called the "bible" of canoe repair, restoration, and maintenance; the second is an excellent study of the wooden/canvas canoe and its construction. The third is the most recently published and has been well received.