Need Advice on Strip Canoe

jmc

Hello,

I need some advice, as I'm new to the world of wood canoes.

This canoe is for sale. The seller doesn't know much about it, other than it floats with no leaks and was made by the previous owner.

How much is a canoe like this worth (ballpark)? What should I look for in person when inspecting the canoe? Any ideas on construction material? The seller doesn't know anything.
00B0B_hw8AbcwScTtz_0t20CI_600x450.jpg
IMG_5015.jpeg

Looks like a cedar strip & fiberglass canoe; these are home-built just about everywhere. Could be commercially made, too... any maker's mark on it?

Things to look for:
How bad are the scratches in the bottom of the hull, the left side of image #2? If they're into the glass cloth, repairs might be bit more difficult that you like.
What does it weigh? How much canoe are you willing to pick up, to load onto your vehicle, or carry to the launch, or on portages?
It's worth what somebody is willing to pay for it. See this post: http://forums.wcha.org/index.php?threads/how-much-is-my-old-wooden-canoe-worth.57/ in our "FAQ" forum.

Hope this helps?

Thanks for your reply.
I know it's worth what someone is willing to pay, so let me ask you, what would YOU pay? Thanks, I do appreciate your insight.

I'm in MN, lots of those, "Strippers", have been made here (The local canoe club has been selling plans and the building book for these sense I believe the 60's)
Also, before I learned about W/C, I made 3 strippers, 2 were passed on/sold.

To me, that canoe looks pretty crude, so it's value here (and to me) is very low.
You also know little to nothing about what design it is or how it paddles.
IF there is no or little real damage, maybe the $300 Dave mentioned, if there is glass damage, it goes down from there.