Identification help for a newbie

Steve

Curious about Wooden Canoes
I've been a paddler and woodworker for quite a few years, and I now have the opportunity to put them together. I have acquired a wood/canvas canoe for $40.00, and I was hoping someone might help me identify it. If all goes according to plan, there will be four pictures attached to this post.

Dimensions:
16' Overall Length
32" Width (gunnel to gunnel)
38 1/2" Overall width (including the floatation outside below the gunnels)
Ribs are 2 1/4" wide in the centre, and 1 1/2" wide at the gunnels (3/8" thick). The spaces between the ribs correspond to the ribs: 1 1/2" in the centre, and 2 1/4" at the gunnels. The edges of the ribs are rounded over

The canoe has been in a friend's family in Ontario since at least 1939. There is a mount for a sail in the bow, and I suspect that is the reason for the floatation along the gunnels.

Any help would be really appreciated. This is my first refinishing job, and I've found these forums to be very informative so far.

Thanks!

Attachments

• scan0001.jpg
    scan0001.jpg
    378.7 KB · Views: 737
  • scan0002.jpg
    scan0002.jpg
    235.2 KB · Views: 769
  • scan0003.jpg
    scan0003.jpg
    236.1 KB · Views: 704
  • scan0004.jpg
    scan0004.jpg
    119.7 KB · Views: 748
Steve,
I suspect your canoe is either a Canadian Canoe Co or a Peterborough Canoe Co built Sponson canoe.
The decks and their hardware somewhat indicates a Chestnut Canoe Co, but the paint scheme and several other details points toward Canadian Canoe Co or Peterborough Canoe Co.

Early Canadian Canoe Co as well as early Chestnut Canoe Co sponson canoes had s very similar heartshaped decks.

Attached below is a page from Peterborough Canoe Co's 1930 catalogue.

You seem to have a gem of a canoe, especially at that purchase price.

Cheers
Dick Persson
Headwater Wooden Boat Shop
Buckhorn, Ontario
www.headwatercanoe.com

Attachments

• page-19,-1930-Peterborough.jpg