help please, filling ends

Zach

WCHA 8049
Ok, so my dad and I filled our first canoe yesterday. It was a fun experience and everything went as well as can be expected for a couple of rookies, except for the ends. When we trimmed the canvas at the ends we cut the seam toward one side of the stem as opposed to down the middle. We began building up a few layers of filler to try to hide this canvas edge, but we are now out of filler and the edge is not even close to being hidden.

Does anyone have any suggestions on how to procede? I have a few things running through my head:

- get more filler and proceed with build-up process

- attempt to trim seam to make it run down centerline of stem, and then continue building-up of filler

- or find some other substance to hide the seam i.e. bedding compound, epoxy-like goos

-zach

Attachments

• end1.bmp
    506.3 KB · Views: 773
  • end2.bmp
    506.3 KB · Views: 708
I'm new to wood/canvass but I would say you needed twice as many tacks before you started filling.(what do i know,i'm new here! :rolleyes: )

For next time

At the stems I always use a heavy bead of the exterior white carpenters glue between the 2 layers of canvas . Then final tack or staple the canvas and trim flush with the canoe side . The trimmed canvas edge should be tacky from the glue . Apply more if needed and let set for about 10 min. Now lightly tap along the canvas edge with a hammer . Properly done the canvas edge will be tough and invisable after filling and painting .
What kind of filler ? Has the filler set ? Can you get that edge down with more staples ? This needs to be done s.a p. You may then find that carefully sanding the cured filler then building up with layers of paint , sanding as you go , will resolve your concerns . Minor problems can be solved with automotive glazing putty .

Last edited:
Thanks for the replies guys. Just to answer a few questions.