ebay canoe

why so low?

Hi Francois,
This is a beautiful canoe. $1500 seems like a low price. Curious how can you consider parting with this canoe for such a low starting bid?

That is indeed very low but it is my major problem as a birchbark canoe builder, I can't seem to sell my canoes for what they are worth for. I am a good builder but a useless seller! If you could help me, I would appreciate. I have to say I am far away from the market and transportation is always a problem.

That is indeed very low but it is my major problem as a birchbark canoe builder, I can't seem to sell my canoes for what they are worth for. I am a good builder but a useless seller! If you could help me, I would appreciate.

Francois,
I suggest that some attention to marketing could establish your visibility and reputation, which would enable you to charge (much) more. Do you have a good website? Are you blogging or sending out an e-newsletter? Doing talks, presentations, demonstrations? Start by taking a look at the websites of other bark canoe builders; see how they present themselves with an image of high quality and respect for tradition and take your cues from them.