Building question

donwells1

Curious about Wooden Canoes
I have built one strip canoe in the past and am now interested in possibly building either a Square stern or a double ender Wrangeley or an Adirondack Guide Boat using strips and my question is. which of the two would be the easiest to build overall. I don't want to get in over my head if there is a big difference in the skill or problems that would be required for these two boats. I know that there a lot of people here with a lot of experience and i value your opinions beings i am just a beginner in this. Thanks

Hello Do completed7.jpgn & welcome to the forum. I have built a Strip Adirondack Guide Boat & I am Legally Blind. If you have already built a strip canoe I think either boat would be a great project for you. If & when you start it just make sure that you post the progress in here for us to watch. The way I built my boat was to read the book Building an Adirondack Guideboat: Wood Strip Reproductions of the Virginia by Michael J. Olivette (Author), John D. Michne (Co-Author)
I have befriended John and he is a great guy to chat with about the book and the boats. He is very knowledgeable about both. If you have any questions he will be glad to help or I may even be able to. Good luck with the choice and the project. Lance