Avoncraft kit built Class 3 racing kayak

Hippychick

Hi Forum Members

I'm new to WCHA, but am hoping you might be able to help. About a month ago, I bought an old wooden racing kayak. At this stage, all I know about her is that she was built in the 1960's from a kit supplied by Avoncraft, to specifications for British Racing Class 3. I've been told the designer was one of the aircraft engineers from De Havilland (?). What ever her provenience, she's a beautiful boat and I'd really like to find out more about her, and how she was built so that I can restore her.

This is all I know at this stage (and apologies for not knowing the proper terminology for things):

1. She is made of wood veneer, bonded over fibreglass sheeting to give it strength without weight. I don't know what wood was used, but the veneer appears to be about 2mm thick. The wood/fibreglass construction makes her incredibly light. She compares very favourably with modern racing kayaks, in terms of weight.

2. She appears to be built in 5 sections -
(i) there is a 'stapled' seam running around the middle, separating the front and back halves of the boat.
(ii) the rear half is made up of 3 sections: the curved & shaped underside of the boat, which includes the 'hips', and then two smaller panels making up the top deck. These appear to have a narrow wooden strip between them, as a join.
(iii) the front half of the boat appears to have been made from one single piece of veneer/fibreglass, with a single joint running across the top of the boat, from the nose to the cockpit. Using pieces of paper, I've worked out how the sheet was cut, in order to achieve the shape, and can only assume that it was shaped around a mould?
(iv) the cockpit itself.