A student in need...

My name is Ethan Wilson and I am a student at Greenville Technical Charter High School. For my Senior Project, I have decided to restore a canoe that my Dad bought at an auction. As of now, I am unsure as to what model it is, however, people at this site have guessed it to be a 1925 Arrowhead Meraco Speedster with mahogany finish. I'm wondering 1) where I can find parts for such a craft 2) if it would be advisable to replace a pair of broken ribs in the canoe, or if removing the original would decrease the value 3) how to remove the fiberglass that some previous owner coated it in 4) is it worth taking it all apart to replace a keel with exterior dry rot (all cosmetic).
Thank you for your advice
For pictures, see my thread under research and history.
Charter-Kid

You will probably need to make replacement parts since Meraco is no longer in business and the locations of their original forms are not known. Broken ribs should be replaced or repaired if the hull is deformed or if they are in a structually important area. This usually doesn't reduce the value but see the message at http://forums.wcha.org/showthread.php?t=57 for more information about valuations. These forums have lots of good information about fiberglass removal. The message at http://forums.wcha.org/showthread.php?t=539 is a good place to start. The forum search function will find several others. A keel with dry rot should probably be replaced since this is rarely just a cosmetic problem. Good luck with the rest of your project.

Benson

I'll check again, but all that I have found are the letters LPS branded in two places. I doubt that that constitutes a serial number.

Sink or shrink?

Question: I read about how many canoe experts have said that submerging a canoe is a good way to remove fiberglass, but it seems to me that that would make the wood swell and, when it dries, shrink a fair bit. This wouln't hurt the canoe, will it?
PS: still looking for SC canoeist.
C-K