1st Time Fiberglassing issues

Rob Learmont

Curious about Wooden Canoes
I just finished wetting the fiberglass on my strip canoe and I ran into a few issues.
This is my first attempt at fiberglassing and my first cedar strip canoe.
I watched every video and read every article on fiberglassing that I could find over the last few months trying to prepare for my own attempt, but there is something different about doing it for yourself that can't be learned for watching and reading.
1. Seal coat. I decided to do a seal coat before wetting the glass. MAS Epoxy recommended sealing any porous material before fiberglassing. I was warned about the seal coat raising the grain some, creating a texture that stuck to the raw fiberglass making it almost impossible to stretch it cleanly over the hull and near impossible to brush out the wrinkles. Nowhere did I read or hear about sanding down the seal coat, I wish I had taken some time to smooth the surface.
2. Squeegee pressure. Everything I read and watched talked about the angle of the squeegee, too high and starve the glass, too low and float the glass. It took me almost 3/4 of the canoe before I realized the correct pressure to apply to the squeegee in order to wet out the glass and stick it to the hull. I have several spots that are saturated in resin, but not stuck to the hull. So now I have some "waves" in the glass layer. (Photo attached)
3. Vertical surfaces. I could not have imagined how difficult wetting the glass on the vertical sides would be. I think I ended up with more epoxy on the floor than on the sides of the canoe!
4. Squeegee mess. While spreading the epoxy with the squeegee, I ended up with the entire squeegee coated with resin. I was trying to maintain the correct angle while spreading the epoxy and due to lack of experience I had to stop and clean the entire squeegee several times, plus change gloves numerous times due to getting so much epoxy on the squeegee that it was too slippery to hold.